Kategoriarkiv: Brev til vertsfamilie / letter to host family

Brev til vertsfamilien fra foreldrene/Letter to host-family from parents

Dear host family,

My name is (parent). I am (student)’s mother. His father is (father), and (student)  has an older brother called (siblings). In addition, our family consists of (pets).

Our family lives in a regular, middle-class, residential area. The woods are only a couple of minutes away, and swimming requires a bike-ride. Half an hour’s drive takes us to the capitol, Oslo and the fjord.

(Sibling) and (student) are incredibly different. (Sibling) is shy and introvert while (student) is anything but. (Student) has always loved adults. If anyone offered him their lap, he would take it. We kept on expecting him to “get over it” and enter a shy stage, but as long as his parents were somewhere in the vicinity he felt safe. He took his time starting his race towards independence, but a couple of years ago he took off. Since then, he has tried on his independence shoes and he seems to fitting into them fairly well.

What I like the most about (student) is his sense of humor. Both he and I end up being the only ones who laugh at our own jokes and we often do not get other people’s. We do, however, enjoy laughing at each other’s sense of humor. What frustrates me the most about (student) is how stubborn he can be at times. He has that from me as well. It doesn’t really matter whether he is right or wrong, what matters is that he disagrees with whatever I want to be true.

(Student) gets along well with children who are younger than himself and with adults. Many of the interests of the kids his own age haven’t caught on with him yet. He’d rather be outside and active than inside and in front of a pc. Programs about trucking and machines will hold his attention for hours at a time, if we let him. It seems he is going to be able to utilize this interest in his studies. He is taking vocational classes. There he is learning how to drive various vehicles used by logistical companies. After he has gotten his regular license, his school will pay for the additional classes needed to get his truck-driver’s license.

Water fights are one of (student)’s favorite hobbies when the weather here is warm. There is something about water that has an incredible attraction for him. When he was little this could have unfortunate results for our home, but thankfully he has outgrown his flooding tendencies.

(Student) likes knowing what rules apply in different situations. That way he gets to concentrate on the important stuff rather than having to try to figure out what he is allowed or not allowed to do in a given social situation.

According to (student) we are incredibly boring parents. This is probably true. We’re also ancient beings, and that is also true seen with the eyes of a 16-year old.

(Student) has dyslexia. That makes him a slow reader. He loves reading though and uses audio books so he can get through as many books as he wants to. I also read to him sometimes. He seems to like just about any category. Whether he is reading scientific magazines or mysteries doesn’t matter. If the subject interests him, he’ll absorb details that often escape other people.

My hope for a host family is that they will be people who will care for, and care about, my son. Religion or family structure does not matter to us. What we need are decent people who don’t mind boys who don’t fit the stereotypes in all ways. (student) is, after all, one of the two most precious people in our lives.

Best regards

sign.

Advertisements

Brev til vertsfamilie / Dear host-family

Dear Host family:

My name is (student), and I will be 17 in November 2011. In this letter you will find information about me, my family, (home country) and the (home country) school.

About me:

I am 16 years old. My birthday is (date).

My favorite channels on TV are Discovery and National Geographic. I have learned a lot of stuff from them.

I like horse riding. I’ve been riding for about 10 years. Dancing is another of my hobbies. I’ve tried most of the forms most except hip-hop and break. I also like driving cars and riding bikes.

I’ve worked in a pet shop, a food store and a toy store. I love small children and I worked in a kindergarten for 2 days as part of a school assignment.

My best friend is 12 years old. His name is (friend). His grandparents live next-door, and I visit them a lot. They are like my spare grandparents. We like to discuss everything between heaven and earth. We find solutions to everything from bullying to environmental problems.

I am member in a political group named (name of group). I’ve also been on the student council.

My favorite subjects at school are English, Social Science and Math. The subject I like the least is Norwegian.

I love traveling, and I dislike sitting still. If I could decide, we would be on the move all the time from sunrise to sunset.  I am restless and almost nothing can happen soon enough. I love to be outdoor with friends and/or family especially when it’s warm outside.

I like playing cards. I love animals. That’s why I sold 200 boxes of cookies in order to help an animal shelter.

I try to stay healthy, so I am careful with what I eat and I try to exercise. Did I mention that I’m a vegetarian?

I love going to musicals. I also like going to the opera, ballet and other dance performances.

I used to take piano classes, and I have been in a drama club.

I’m environmentally conscious. I like environmentally friendly technology and things that slow down or can stop global warming. Taking care of the ecosystem that our earth is matters a great deal to me – even if I do things that aren’t always environmentally friendly.

I like to cuddle with my dog and to take it for walks. I love riding out in the nature and I love farms with animals. The woods are only about 300 yards from our home, and I like spending time there with my dog.

Something that is very important to me is equality. Sexual orientation, gender or age shouldn’t matter. Animals and humans should have nice lives now and in the future.

My blog is at (name of blog)

About my family:

My dad works as a (title) and has a (education). He’s worked for (place of employment) for over 20 years and he’s 53 years old.

I have a supermom who is 46.

My brother is attending his last year at high school.

I have a dog named (name of pet). 

Last year we had 6 guinea pigs, but one after one died until only one was left. We gave her to a home with another guinea pig. That way she wouldn’t be lonely.

About my country and city:

Norway has a population of about 5 million and it is a little bit bigger than Montana and a little smaller than California. Texas is one and a half times the size of Norway and has about five times the population of Norway.

About half an hour drive from the national airport (OSL, Gardermoen) and the same distance from Norway’s capital Oslo we live in a little area called Skjetten. Skjetten has a population of about 10 000 people.

Norway is mostly made up of mountains. Up north you can see the midnight sun and Aurora Borealis (the northern light).

The Norwegian school:

You start at the age of 6. We have 7 years of elementary school (Obligatory).  After that there are 3 years of junior high (Obligatory). Finally, 3 years of high school are recommended but not obligatory.

Our High School is a lot different from yours. Here you can choose if you want to go 3 years at school taking regular subjects. Or you can take 2 years of vocational studies and two years as a trainee in your chosen field. Choices are fields such as Mechanics or Food and Health.

My studies are called Service and Transportation the first year. After that I’ve chosen Transportation and Logistics. After school I can start to work as a trainee at a bus-, truck- or logistics company. During my studies I will get my car license and truck driver license from school.

Why I want to come to the US:

Some of my answers are the usual answers like: I want to improve my English skills, learn about another culture and another country. I also want to learn to see things from another perspective and I want to grow as a person. I don’t think it’s fair to leave it with that because it is not the whole reason. I’m going to call it my American dream.                                  

Love from (student) (16 years) from Norway.